Living Life To The Fullest With Chronic Illness

Lisa Dunbar Solas
4 min readJan 29, 2020
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Recently, I was diagnosed with lupus, a systemic autoimmune disease. When the doctor confirmed the diagnosis, I was silently relieved. After enduring years of chronic pain, fatigue and skin issues triggered by high levels of stress, I felt like I’d finally gained an important piece of knowledge that would help me better understand what was happening to me.

Then, during my consultation, my doctor gave me advice, which was suprisingly wise. You might call it his secret recipe for living a full and happy life with chronic illness. In this story, I share with you two main ingredients of this recipe and notably, you can apply them even if you are well.

Go and live a normal life

After explaining my diagnosis, the first recommendation my doctor gave was ‘Stay off the spices and go and live a regular life.’ A regular life? I thought, confused. I honestly didn’t understand what he meant. Then, I sat contemplating his words while reviewing my life in my head. All of a sudden, the penny dropped and I realised their significance. You see, I hadn’t had a ‘regular’ life. I had experienced many phases of high stress since childhood. These intense periods included caring for my mum, who was chronically ill, as a teenager and later trying to come to terms with her death while completing two intensive research…

--

--

Lisa Dunbar Solas

Lisa is an Australian researcher, educator and artist and holds a PhD in Archaeology. https://www.patreon.com/lisadunbarsolas